Aerosmith

August 1, 2008 at 9:44 am (Uncategorized)

Okay, here we go.

I just finished reading an autobiography of Aerosmith.  So as it’s very fresh in my mind, it’s a good place to start.

I’m 24 years old.  So I think you can imagine I never get to hear their early early stuff until a couple years ago.  Like a lot of bands, their new stuff, like I don’t wanna miss a thing in around 97-98′, stopped me from digging through their back catalogue.

I first heard them by accident in a music store when I was like in 6th grade.  I think it was the album ‘Get a grip’.  The song ‘Eat the Rich’ forced my to buy the album.  Then I bought ‘Pump’. And it was good for the time, I was addicted to it for like a couple weeks.  The song ‘Janie’s got a gun’ was one of thier best, so so good.  But since then I never really listen to Aerosmith again (apart from the popular tunes such as Sweet Emotion, Walk this way, Cryin, Crazy, Amazing, etc…

…Until I discovered their first album and the song ‘Make it’ about a year ago.

This is from 1973 stuff, man, but it rocked the shit out of me. This song was so Rock n’ Roll and kicked me into yet another addictive phase.  It’s been playing in my ipod almost everyday since.  ‘Aerosmith,’ ‘Toys…’, and ‘Rocks’ are masterpieces to me.

Everything about this song makes them the GREAT AMERICAN BAND (this is from the book).  Aerosmith, I think, started and set the tone for the American Rock to become great and better to their English counterpart.  And it proved right, since the 80’s I honestly think America produced a lot more good bands and Rock music than the English.  But that’s whole another issue for later.

Anyway, I can’t deny this song so I digged through all their albums and what I have to say is this:

I’m not wondering why they’re so great and popular and still have the same members anymore.  The song ‘Back in the saddle’ was another great great great bang.  When Tyler screamed “I’m backkkkkkk” I just wanna jumped and jumped and wish I could see them live back in the days.

And who could refused the bass line into ‘Sweet Emotion’.  Did I mention I play bass?  Well, the bass intro is one of the best in my opinion.  Good things don’t have to be complicated.

‘Janie’s got a gun’ is what I considered their best work though.  This is one of the song that perfectly combined great music and lyrics together.  For you who doesn’t know, it’s about a girl who was abused by her own father, hmm.

I do think that Aerosmith WAS the first American band that broke through and became one of the greatest ever.  Before them, who were the great American bands?  I have no idea, they were all English.

I was born on 1984, so I missed out on a lot of great Rock n’ Roll.  But I’m lucky enough to be living in a world that provides me endless opportunities to discover more and more good music.  It’s never too late.  Just like when Tyler said “I wanna make records ’cause then I will live forever”.

Diceman

Leave a Reply

